THE HUMAN MANIFESTO

MANIFESTING SINCE FEBRUARY 27 AT 1:38 P.M.

Thought #10

Spring break is almost a day away!! Hu–fucking–ray!!! Okay, that’s a bit of the salter side of me, but I’m really glad, as the pressure was really getting to me. As it was to everyone. Truth be told, no wonder Americans are fat, and dealing with so many health problems. We work these long stretches of work and then take two days or two weeks of rest. It’s  insane!! My biggest problem with it is that unless one is self-employed there’s no wiggle room for individual needs which is why I think so many problems exist in today’s society. I know how I work well, and how I don’t. And as I get older, I realize more and more if I’m going to have a life which supports me, then I’m going to have to create situations where I work positively and not against my own grain.

This past week really drove that home for me as I was having health problems for the first time. In December, I had a check up and was told of the existing problem, but of course, since I didn’t have any of the more serious symptoms of the issue, I blew it off somewhat.  So when the symptoms arose, I felt really isolated.  I’m 36 and about 10 to 15 lbs above what I probably should be. But I’m thin, so I take that for granted. What a false sense of security to have.  So, now I’m faced with having to educate myself on what I can do to lower the impact of future symptoms. And it hit me as I write this entry, in fact I’m a bit mad, how my doctor didn’t really explain much to me about my condition. Perhaps she was busy, perhaps she didn’t care, perhaps she is jaded because the condition I have is very common among black women and perhaps she thought, I wouldn’t do much to change the situation.

Whatever it was she thought, I think, I am going to have to educate myself and be accountable as well as responsible for my wellbeing. Much like one’s own happiness.

The key to having it, comes from within.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 21, 2008 by in Thoughts.
