THE HUMAN MANIFESTO

MANIFESTING SINCE FEBRUARY 27 AT 1:38 P.M.

Thought #16

lysa1_flIn the summer of 2008, I attended the UNITY conference in Chicago. It had to be serendipitous that the largest minority conference for journalists was being held in my city as I was attending j-school. For four days, I only saw and heard opportunity, even as the field has been shrinking (UPDATE: 10,092 jobs since Sept 15 according to UNITY’s newsletter). The best advice I walked away with, was from managing editor at a high-profile magazine, who told me that graduating in December would actually work to my advantage, as I wouldn’t be competing with May grads.

December rolled around and the bottom of the economy fell out.

It was about Dec 12 when I really had to laugh hard as I watched CNN report on the unemployment numbers and recount the advice I had been given six months earlier. There are things one can do in times like this. Have about a couple of weeks of “oh woe is me” and hit the career.com, monster.com and craigslist.com boards. Or begin planting some seeds of hope.

To plant seeds of hope, I’ve taken out several nice suits and hung them within view of my kitchen. I have to pass by my kitchen to get my bathroom, and each time I pass I say “Thank God, I have an interview with XYZ on it’s way.” Having the suits in sight are a visual affirmation that this too shall pass. Giving praise to God about it, gets me out of a “victim” mentality(begging God for something) to a “victory” mentality(knowing God will grant it). It preps the mind for focusing on what I do want rather than what I don’t have.

I’m looking forward to this new beginning this time. And to see how my garden grows.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 13, 2009 by in Life.
